In many countries, the cost of using public transport is rising rapidly. What are the causes of this problem? What solutions can be implemented to address it?

Citizens in a large number of nations have witnessed a rapid increase in the price of using public transit systems. In this essay, I would evaluate the reasons behind this tendency before proposing some solutions that can tackle it.

There are some reasons that explain why the cost of using public transport has increased significantly. First and foremost, the cost of fossil fuels, used by most public transit systems around the world, has increased due to geopolitical conflicts in the past few years, especially the war between Russia and Ukraine. As a result, oil production was stagnated, leading to inadequacy of this mainstream source to fulfill all kinds of demands. In this case, the price of gasoline and other fossil fuels has increased and the cost of public transport has risen. Furthermore, since customers require better services, many providers must invest in upgrading the vehicles, their interior designs and even adding extra amenities like internet, making the increase in overall costs.

However, there are a number of steps that could be taken to solve it including urgent and long-term solutions. As for temporary practices, the government should subsidize the use of public transit by covering a portion of the cost for the public. It is also an effective solution on this time for reducing costs and encouraging citizens to use public transports, regardless of their ticket prices. Take Vietnam as an example. the government subsidizes public transport to make it affordable for all residents. In terms of long-term measures, as political conflicts are unpredictable, it is important for the government to explore alternative sources of power, such as solar, wind, or geothermal energy that may become a mainstream replacement for all kinds of vehicles. It would be a contribution to release the stress of lacking fossil fuels. Some industrialized countries, for example, utilized eco-friendly vehicles which mainly run by electric, recycled energies.

In conclusion, the cost of public transit has increased because of political turmoil around the world and a demand for better service. In order to handle this, the government can invest more in green energy and subsidize the ticket cost for passengers.