In many countries, the gap between the rich and the poor is widening. What problems does this trend cause, and what solutions can you suggest to address this issue?

Nowadays, people have a tendency to live in metropolises. In my opinion, the merits outweigh the demerits.

On the one hand, it will lead to several drawbacks. Due to the increase in the population, the competitiveness between workers and workers is more intense. As a result, city dwellers have to work extremely hard to find suitable accommodation and pay for plenty of bills. They need to make more effort in order to improve themself; otherwise, it seems to be very easy to be eliminated from society. To illustrate, people who are not capable of making a fortune seem to live in inner-city slums which is lack of essential facilities. Moreover, the environmental deterioration is more serious and severe. The dense frequency of discharged emission from vehicle is destroying the air pollution. More and more particulate matter and dust exist in air which make atmosphere be suffocating and hard to breathe. In addition, because of high demand for housing, the governments are now exploiting lands which put various species on the verge of extinct.

Although it has some negative impacts, the advantages is much more significant. First, the quality of labour is enhanced significantly. Companies find it easy to meet excellent workers as the ratio of city dwellers are climbing. Thus, brilliant people are easier to stand out from the competition for jobs while low level others struggle to exist in urban areas. Furthermore, there are some possible solutions for environmental issues. Seeking alternatives such as renewable energy or a biodiversity conservation plan are not impossible. With the advancement of technology, artificial supplies such as water or land will appear in the near future. Beside, environmental departments are now controlling effectively waste and sewage systems.

In conclusion, I strongly believe the relocation of people to centre cities bring more benefits as it helps to improve the quality of workforce and environment which outweigh drawbacks.