In many countries, the government spends a large amount money on the arts. Some people agree with this. However, others think the government should spend more on healthcare and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In recent years, the state budget distribution to different fields has become a broad issue for general public. Some people believe that the priority of money should be distributed to the arts. However, others think that the government should use more money in healthcare and education. In this essay, I will elaborate on both stances first before giving my final verdict on this matter.

On the one hand, supporters of focusing on the arts argue that the arts impact positively to the economic development. This is due to the fact that the arts are the asset of a country, representing cultural identity of a nation. This culture makes a country unique and distinctive, leading to the tourism growth. As reported by Helen Mable, a researcher at Trinity University, the increase of tourists promotes the rise of job opportunities, resulting in higher income. For instance, the diversity of the arts in architecture, music, and literature makes Italy an ideal destination for tourism. According to BBC news, in 2023, Italy attracted millions of tourists, which contributed about 13% to Italy’s GDP and created more than 300 million jobs.

On the other hand, there are some arguments in support of the idea that government budget should concentrate on healthcare and education. Firstly, the increase of investment for healthcare boosts the quality of life. By this I mean, funds can be located in technologies and researches, providing effective and innovative treatment for patients. Secondly, the rise of a nation’s literacy enhances economic growth. That is, people gain knowledge and refine characters through studying. As a result, people will have ability to challenge themselves in diverse economic aspects, attributing for the prosperity of a country.

In conclusion, while both sides have valid points, I am more inclined to support the view of education and healthcare. This is because these aspects are the basic needs of people. If and only if education and health care have a positive effect on the quality of life, others can develop.