In many countries, the levels of obesity and related health problems are increasing rapidly. What do you think are the causes of this problem, and what solutions can you suggest?

In modern world, there is a positive trend in the number of overweighting health problems. It is obvious that sedimentary lifestyle and unhealthy dietary habits are to blame for this negative tendency; however, this can be prevented if proper measures are taken by government and companies.

There are two main reasons why weight-related issues have risen in the recent years. To begin, people live passive lifestyle because of technological advancements. The reason is that technology has substituted human labor, and people mostly work in desk-based jobs. For instance, nowadays tractors and other types of machines can do agriculture tasks instead of farmers, and it resulted in low physical activity for them. The second reason is the widespread consumption of processed foods and sugary beverages. People tend to consume calorie intake products and they decrease metabolic rate. As a result, it may lead to health complications and even chronic diseases. To be more specific, excessive consume of fast food contributes to the overweighting problems for the large part of the population in the island country of Nauru.

In order to tackle these problems, both government and organizations should be involved. Firstly, managers of companies should encourage active lifestyle among their employees. To be more precise, they can arrange health clubs or small-gym activities in the office environment, and it can have positive effects on physical conditions of workers. Additionally, authorities can promote food companies to produce healthier goods by applying strict rules and some incentives. For example, North European countries, such as Norway, Sweden, and Finland use these methods and observe its effectiveness in their community.

In conclusion, in order to solve the problem of obesity, government interventions and employers’ initiatives should be done