In many countries, the levels of obesity and related health problems are increasing rapidly. What do you think are the causes of this problem, and what solutions can you suggest?

Over the decades, obesity has become one of the most concerning matters in the world. The pace at which the levels of obesity and the number of overweight people rise and the consequences of this tendency on people’s health capture the attention of society. There are numerous factors that contribute to this issue. A sedentary lifestyle and emotional eating are considered to have a substantial impact on this matter. However, there are applicable solution methods that need to be implemented in order to tackle this problem.

One of the core reasons is a sedentary lifestyle caused by rapid advancement in technology. Daily activities that once were accomplished solely physically can now be done with minimum physical effort. For example, many jobs require long hours of sitting at the desk, and most of the tasks are carried out automated. The absence of regular activity combined with inadequate nutrition ultimately contributes to weight gain, which deleteriously effects human health, particularly on the cardiovascular system. To address this problem, governments and authorities have to create environments that encourage people to be more physically active. For example, constructing more parks and cycling paths will motivate people to integrate physical activities into their daily routines.

Another major factor contributing to the rapid increase in obesity is emotional eating. Many people see food as a source of release from emotional pressure, anxiety, stress and sadness. For instance, individuals may seek relief in junk food or generous portions of food as a way to cope with feelings that are typically acknowledged as negative. Emotional eating effects not only physical health by contributing excess calorie intake but also amplify such feelings like guilt and shame, leading to a neverending cycle of overeating. In order to combat this problem, there must be promoted more social awareness projects about the psychological factors that have tremendous impact on overeating. For example, with appropriate knowledge, people can distinguish emotional triggers behind the overconsumption of food and be more cautious about their own feelings.

Overall, obesity and the health problems that stem from it are essentialy driven by a sedentary lifestyle and emotional eating. However, these issues can be overcome by encouraging physical activity and raising awareness about emotional eating.