In many countries, the use of social media has become increasingly popular among elderly people. Some people think this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks to the older generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In some countries, the use of social media has become more popular among elderly people. Many individuals believe this trend brings more advantages than disadvantages to the older generation. I definitely agree with this statement because of the positive feelings that these elders posses by using their social media.

To begin with, many grandparents nowadays live only with their spouse or live alone if their spouse already passed away. It’s not happen by coincidence, but because their children already grown up and left the house due to their children work or marriage. As a result, these elders often feel lonely in their big house, even though they have neighbours to socialize with, loneliness sometimes is still appear. Then, when they use social media, they found themselves happy, because many features and contents that are provided in these social media platform.

In addition, these old generations also find joy in using social media due to its function to connect them with their beloved ones who live separated from them such as their siblings, their children, their grandchildren, their distant relatives, even their old high school friends. To illustrate, they can do Skype or Whatsapp video call to communicate with their children, they can scrolling on their relatives Instagram posts to keep informed about recent activities that their beloved ones did recently.

Moreover, there are drawbacks that can happen when these older people use social media. It can be damage for their old eyes and trigger a headache when they overuse it. However, social media benefits definitely overcome these drawbacks.

In conclusion, social media brings happines and joy to these elderly people due to its function to connect these beautiful souls to their beloved ones who are live far away from them.