In many countries, the use of social media has become increasingly popular among elderly people. Some people think this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks to the older generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In most countries, it is often said that the use of social media has been popular among older generations. While certain parties believe that it gives more positive impacts on the elderly, I would disagree with the previously mentioned statement since it brings more negative effects, in which they become ignorant with their surroundings and physically weaker.

To begin with, spending too much time online scrolling through social media makes old people not care about their surroundings. Social media is mostly user-friendly, and it provides various features that make people stay online for a long time. For example, Instagram application not only enables the users to get in touch with other users but also to watch funny or aesthetic videos through its ‘reels’ feature. It could result in them being addicted to social media. In the case of elderly people, they have more responsibilities in taking care of their offspring or community compared to younger generations. When they have been addicted to social media and allocate much of their time online, it could result in them neglecting their responsibilities.

Another drawback is that it makes elderly become physically weaker. Since they spend much of their time scrolling through social media, they would do less physical activities compared to those who are not active online. For instance, they would prefer to lie on their bed while talking to their friends virtually rather than going for a walk in the park or doing household chores. It could result in a worse condition of health. Moreover, spending too much time online could result in a bad condition of their eyes, which means they would rather sleep to rest their eyes.

To sum up, while it is true that using social media has benefited the elderly, I would disagree with that idea on the grounds that it makes them ignorant and physically weaker.