In many countries, there is a growing trend of food waste at both the consumer and retail levels. What are the primary reasons for this problem, and what effective solutions can be implemented to minimize food waste?

Hunger is an issue that occurs all around the global. In most part of the world, foods produced tend to be wasted, despite the number of hunger increasing and food insecurity. Based on such condition, there are causes that some solutions can solve.

From my perspective, there are three major factors contributing to this problem. Firstly, overproduction may be the cause, which the system of food industry instruct their employees to throw away leftover meals if it is still unsold by the end of the day. For instance, a local shop specialized in selling donuts produced 1000 donuts each day, but consumer’s demand are approximately 500 everyday. Secondly, many people discard food for the purpose of only purchasing it for social media content, causing waste of food due to too much order. For example, a food vlogger buying variety of cuisine to review every one of it but are not able to consume it all.

To address this issue, there are several ways to encourage the public to be more aware of food thrown away even though numerous of society are in need. Owners in the food sector could improve their system by offering certain part of citizens in need of meals, which are not sold. Furthermore, public figure should purchase just enough amount of food or receive cancel culture by their fans for consequences.

In essence, the problem stated is due to market demand and consumer behaviour. However, by distributing the consumable good to the right sector and improving an individual action, the drawbacks from the trend mentioned can be reversed, improving hunger.