In many countries today the retirement age from work has been raised. Do the advantages of raising the retirement age outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, a lot of countries had raised the retirement age from work, and even more countries are discussing about the advantages and disadvantages of this dilemma. Politics and common people discuss whether the additional workforce and economy increasing can outweigh the health problems of old people and democratic principles.

The pros of this adjustment is, that there would be additional labourforce for various purposes, from administrators and bureaucrats to doctors, technicians, and factory workers. This, in result, would improve administrations, factory outputs, private companies, and money income for country. Also people would have more time to earn money for their retirement, resulting in increasement of financial conditions for this people. This two or three years of extra work can drastcially change the wealth of many people, that needs it desperately. After all, they are a fellow citizens of this country, so they must give their fullest to them, right?

However, the disadvantages are more severe and serious than advantages. The old people already have a poor health conditions, and forcing them to work additional year or two, can seriously impact their health, resulting in accidents in work. I know a lot of elderly people suffering from serious diseases, such as dementia, diabetes, alczheimer’s disease and more. This can be treated as a violation of civilian rights, and civilians will just disrespect the country’s leadership, because increasing retirement’s age can be reffered as an exploitation of people. The increasement of retirement age is acceptable when the country is having a hard times. But in any other cases it isn’t justiced, in my opinion.In conclusion, increasing the retirement age can significanlty boost the economy of country because of additional workforce that this adjustment gives, and also improve the finances of this people, while cons being that the elderly people’s health would suffer and people would openly disrespect the government from taking this decision. In my opinion, advantages does not outweigh the disadvantages of this decision whatsoever.