In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

In numerous regions, reading newspapers or following the news on TV has no appeal for the younger generation. This phenomenon has emerged due to an absence of interest among the youth in the news that are orientated to adults and their low access to these traditional media tools.

The primary cause of this is that the youth are not interested in information presented in news. Seldom does the younger generation follow events in politics, economics, or society that presented via these platforms. For example, statistics show that adolescents tend to skip news television programmes in favor of entertaining channels that are more interesting. Another paramount reason for this trend is that following the latest events with these mediums has become hard to access. Many young individuals cannot afford monthly payments for access to TV programmes or buying newspapers every week. To be more specific, the company “KazakhTelecom” sells a monthly subscription to news channels for 40.000 tenge; not everyone can afford this, especially adolescents without a stable income. So the youth lose their interest in these media tools.

Addressing this problem requires a sweeping change in the content that media represents. Translated news should also include information about video games, sports and other spheres that have appeal for young persons. For example, the newspaper “The guardian” combines news that could be interesting for adults as well as for rising generation. Another counter-action to this problem is to include discounts for students. As previously mentioned, students are preoccupied with academic commitments so they are not capable of paying large amount of money for a subscription to television programmes. For instance, companies could present some special offers and discounts. The news programme “Today” give 30% percent discount for students. In that case these media can gain interest among vast range of young individuals.

To conclude, although traditional mediums are unreachable and boring for the rising generation, the trend can be declined by including discounts and interesting events for students.