In many countries,primary and secondary schools close for two month or more in the summer holidays.what this the value of long school holidays ?what are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

It is a common practice for primary and secondary schools around the globe to make summer holidays from two to three months. This period of the year offers benefits, which will be discussed in further essay as like as main arguments for supporting the idea of shorter holidays.

On the one hand, children should not study all day long, there is also a tendency for games, sports, and meeting friends in this lifestage. Therefore, this few months in summer without a school in the schedule, can give a lot of opportunities for them to improve other specific skills. For example, when I was younger, I used to spend my summer in camps. Particulary, it helped me to be more communicative, also it gave me the capacity for working in a team. That’s why parents and schools should pay attention to all aspects of children’s development, and provide opportunities.

On the other hand, it can be useful to reduce the holiday period particularly for higher education. It seems to me that the way this system works now is not as effective as it can be. Probably, pupils almost forget a crucial part of knowledge during a break. This time can be used more properly, especially for older children, who can prepare for future exams, for example. I suppose, that adding one month of studing can lead to a better grades.

In conclusion, summer holidays are a significant part of students’ development in other spheres, which can help in the future. But there are some advantages in favour of reducing it period especially for the higher level of educational system.