In many families nowadays, both parents work and pay people to look after their children. Some people believe this is not good for families. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In several household, both mother and father are employed and they hire babysitter for their babies’ care. This is considered bad by many people. I partially agree with this statement. There are several reasons why leaving a child under someone else’s care is harmful for families, however multiple factors also suggest that both parents have to work in the certain circumstances which will be explained further.

When it comes to the negative effects of working parents on their families and more particularly upon their child, the primary reason is that in many families, there is a growing sentiment of parents’ absenteeism from their children’s early life. Both parents working will result in minimal time spent with their child and it reflects in child’s behaviour as well. Another reason is that when parents are away, the chance of a child being abused and the warmth required by them would also be denied. A babysitter or someone paid to look after the baby is not a replacement for motherly care and warmth. There are several examples of such abuse have recently surfaced on the social media.

On the contrary, the set-up of families are changing and people are opting for nuclear families instead of living in joint family. In such a family, when both parents are working, it s a need rather a choice for parents to hire a nanny to take care of their child. Another factor that is pushing the families and specially both parents to opt for work is the increasing cost of living. When people live in nuclear families, they have to look after all the expenses that earlier may have been shared while living in a joint family. This forces both the mother and father to work and provide the best living for their children.

Therefore, I partially agree that working parents contribute to a negative effect on their children.