In many families nowadays, both parents work and pay people to look after their children. Some people believe this is not good for families. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is the fundamental right of children to be taken care of by their parents. However, in many families in recent years, this unique responsibility has been assigned to paid nannies, while the mothers and fathers work. I share the same opinion with those that are against this new trend because, it not only brings about poor nutritional care of the children, but it also exposes the whole family to danger.

First of all, I believe that, children from such families regularly lack basic nutritional care. Although, the parents can afford to prepare the best types of meals for them, but since they are too busy with work, the responsibility will be handed over to the nannies who, most times, do not have knowledge of balance diet. This is what is obtainable in most African homes. For example, doctors in Nigeria have confirmed through research that, children of working class parents suffer from malnutrition more than those ones that have at least one of their parents to care for them. Moreover, if they become sick, their mothers and fathers will spend money and time on their medical care.

Another reason why I am against this new development is that, the safety of the children and the house properties may not be guaranteed when the parents away. If they domestic staff have questionable characters, they connive with criminals to kidnap these minors or steal family belongs, such as money, jewelries, and clothes. Records of police investigations in Nigeria proves that, the domestic staff are involved in more than 80 percent of crimes that happens in various homes in Nigeria. Further more, these minors might be molested sexually. This may lead to sexually transmitted diseases.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that, paying individuals to take care of the children while parents work should be discouraged because, the childrenmight be poorly fed and the safety of these young ones and the family belongs may be threatened.