In many families nowadays, both parents work and pay people to look after their children. Some people believe this is not good for families. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern life, many families are hiring babysitters to take care of their children due to being busy with work. Still, some people argue about this idea because it has a negative impact on families. This essay strongly agrees with the argument because recruiting people outside would cost lots of money and babysitters may harm their children.

First and foremost, the primary drawback of having a nanny for their children is the expense. Hiring a nanny tends to be the most expensive option, like in the U.S., the average cost for a full-time nanny is $700 per week, leading to an increase in the household costs of the whole family. Moreover, in the case of income, if the household incomes fall below the top 30%, they may need more viable consideration. Some families have to arrange a “nanny share” with other families, which will bring down the costs for the family. However, there might be a conflict between the nanny and these two families, such as the suitable time to look after the children of each house, which results in a waste of time and energy in discussion.

The second huge disadvantage is harming their children. Nannies are usually kind-hearted and act their best when parents are around to show that they are reliable and want to work longer with their families. Nevertheless, when parents are not home, they may show their real personalities to their children. They will become cruel and treat children poorly, such as making children sick and not feeding them regularly, which has a negative impact on children’s physical and mental health. Their children begin to dislike the nannies and parents have to hire new a babysitter.

In conclusion, having a babysitter at home is an enormous obstacle not only for children but also for parents. Parents should know time management so that they can spend time with their children to witness the developmental milestones of their children and build family affection. I strongly agree with the argument that babysitters will have a negative effect on every family member.