In Many Large Cities, People Waste Hours Of Their Time Because Of Traffic Congestion

Traffic jams are now an everyday occurrence in many metropolises. This is mainly due to the increase in the number of private vehicles. While more people own cars these days, the roads have not become wider or better and hence traffic cannot move fast. Promoting public transport and building better roads are the most effective ways to deal with this situation.

Almost every family owns a car in urban areas these days. Many people are reluctant to use public transport to commute to work. They find buses and trains overcrowded and uncomfortable and hence they choose to drive their own car. Unfortunately, the existing urban infrastructure is not designed to cope with the increase in car ownership. Many cities have old and narrow roads built several decades ago. Since there are residential and commercial buildings on either side of the roads, it is not easy to widen them. Consequently, traffic jams occur and people waste countless hours every day on the roads.

In order to address this issue, the governments have to either widen the roads or limit the number of cars. In places where widening is possible, that is certainly the right solution. In other situations, a better option is to limit the number of private vehicles on the road. The most effective way to accomplish this is to invest in public transport. If buses and trains run on time and offer a comfortable journey, people are less likely to use their own cars for the daily commute. When fewer people use their cars, traffic can move smoothly and people will be able to save a lot of time.

In conclusion, the number of cars has increased but roads have not become wider. Hence, traffic jams occur. Building better roads and encouraging people to use public transport are the most effective ways to deal with this situation.