In many large cities,many people are living alone or as a small family unit rather than living in extended families Is it negative or positive development?

In recent times, a lot of people in urban areas have chosen to live alone or in small family units instead of residing with extended family. This trend is becoming increasingly common in the modern era because of modernization, lifestyle, changing and economic development. For me personally, it is largely positive trend since it shapes people more resilient and offers better quality of life.

One major advantage of living alone are resilience and independence. It is undoubtedly that living in difference places with extended-family is advantageous, especially for young people, to strengthen their resilience and become more independent. This is because they people who are living alone, they are always try to organize life and address their problems by themselves, as well as fulfil their needs. For example, higher education students are commonly living apart from their families in different cities, therefore they have to organize their lives independently, from making schedule, pay for the electrical charge and so on. Thus, living alone is also good idea to strengthen their survival abilities. People may learn a lot of survival skills such as cooking and cleaning, supporting their overall-development as individuals.

Another point to consider is the improvement quality of life due to less conflict and better privacy. The fact is extended-families, particularly which composed by different generations, sometimes create arguments because different perspectives, values, and preferences. For example, it is not uncommon in big families, there is conflict because of intergenerational relationship, making every member difficult to understand to each other. These problems leads to ruin a peaceful life. Additionally, by avoiding residing together, people can have much more sense of freedom, because they have autonomy and personal spaces since no one would disturb them.

In conclusion, this essay proposes that living independently is a good trend, especially for youngers. Living apart from family can support people to become more independent and resilient. Furthermore, it also advantageous to lessen unnecessary conflict and make a better quality of life.