In many major cities today, governments spend public money on public art projects, such as sculptures and murals. Some people argue that this is a waste of money that should be used for essential services, while others believe public art provides important benefits. Which view do you agree with, and why?

It is often argued that spending public expenditure on communal public art projects is unnecessary and that should be used for fundamental services. However, others hold the opposite belief that public art offers many significant advantages. Although both sides present compelling arguments, I tend to side with former view for several reasons.

Proponents of investing public art projects claim that it might bring some benefits for central area. This is primarily because the art works such as murals and status help beautify cityscapes, which make cities more visually appealing. This can attract tourists who want to experience local culture ans artistic heritage, thereby generating revenue for cities through tourism-related businesses. Moreover, these projects create employment opportunitues for local artists. This is important due to many talet artists face difficulties on finding jobs in other industries as the specialized nature of their skills. Through the public art projects, they can earn a stable income while pursuiting their passion, allowing art industry in many cities to flourish ans develop further.

Conversly, supporters of allocating public budget for critical sectors assert that it is more important and should be prioritized. Firstly, medical system and education in many metropolises are lacking severely budget. To illustrate, many hospitals lack modern medical equipment and facilities in many public schools have deteriorating, thus failing to provide a suitable study environment for students. These problems effect directly to resident’s living standard, making them more urgent than aesthetic improvements. Furthermore, in many urban areas, streets in poor condition, while buses and metro system are overcrowded, leading to traffic congestion. By improving these systems, dwellers can save travel time and less stressful daily commutes, which would significantly enhance overall their productivity and well-being. From my point of view, while public art projects bring core upsides, it is overshadowed by proritize money on other important segments.

In conclusion, although both views offer certain benefits, I am convinced that the latter view holds more validity in the long run. It is recommended that further measures be taken to maximize the advantages of spending public money on essential sectors while minimizing any drawbacks.