In many modern cities, people are increasingly choosing to live in 'micro-apartments' with very limited space. Why is this trend occurring? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In most urban arears, many individuals prefer to reside in small houses compared to conventional residences. The main reason for this trend is because of cost. while this development may have some drawbacks, I believe it is largely a positive thing because it is easier to maintain.

The major reason people opt for compact flats is because it is less expensive. This is because most individuals do not find it necessary to spend so much on accomodation, they are of the opinion that a house is a place where a person can relax and find comfort in regardless of the cost or size of the buidings. For example, a recent study was conducted in Aja, Lagos, and the result showed that most people tend to rent an accomodation not because of the size but based on what they can afford irrespective of the size or location. Therefore, it is evident that most individual prefer to spend less on apartments.

Moreover, this is a positive development because micro-apartments are easy to preserve. Unlike traditional houses, individuals who live in small houses are not expected to spend enormous amount of money recruiting staffs to do the cleaning, instead they do this themselves. Also, work can be done faster and requires lesser effort. For instance, many people find it easier to arrange and care for small houses when compared to more extensive apartments.

In conclusion, although the reason why people choose small residential houses is beause of the finances involved, I believe this is a positive development beause it is easy to look after.