In many part of the world, people have fewer children compared to the past. Do the advantages of this trend far outweigh the disadvantages?

Young people play an essential role in the prosperity of society and in building a great nation. However, there has been an increasing number of individuals in many countries tending to have fewer babies these days. This essay will examine the pros and cons of this phenomenon in depth.

To begin with, the prime advantage of having fewer kids is the chance for parents to pay more attention to their careers and personal passions. Reality shows that those with one child or without children will have better employment prospects since they have more time to focus on enhancing their relevant job skills and knowledge, helping them to be outstanding in their competitive workplace. Besides, when they do not need to spend too much time on taking care of their children, they will make full use of their time to discover and pursue their own hobbies, causing a real sense of fulfillment in them. The second merit of this trend is that children in one-child families are likely to receive better conditions to grow in all aspects. Many studies in different places back this idea, indicating that these children are provided with a proper education to grow into self-sufficient adults with a good sense of purpose in life. The bottom line is that parents are always willing to sacrifice everything they have for their only child without hesitation as long as they know that it is beneficial to the child.

This trend is, however, not entirely free from drawbacks. It is without dispute that there are several challenges that lie ahead when society does not have enough young people to work. In the end, the fact remained that an ageing population decreases participation in the workforce, intensifying demand for healthcare services and other sectors as well. A lot of research on a global scale shows that an economy that cannot fill in-demand occupations faces adverse consequences, including declining productivity and reduced international competitiveness. From another perspective, parents with only child are susceptible to indulging their children too much, which might spoil their future. Most experts would argue that children who are overindulged can get stuck in the center of their own universe with an increased sense of irresponsibility.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the fact that this tendency poses several upsides for parents and children themselves, I am firmly convinced that its drawbacks far outweigh its merits and this trend should not be encouraged.