In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are spending more and more of their time indoors. What do you think that are the causes of this problem? What measures could best be taken to solve it?

Time spent indoors by children and adolescents is increasing in many regions. I think the development of technologies and poor upbringing are the main reasons for this issue. To overcome it, parents should be more responsible for raising children properly and control their use of gadgets. This essay will further explain the causes behind this problem and ways to solve it.

Firstly, the problem of children and teenagers spending too much time inside is mostly caused by the increasing popularity of technologies and the irresponsibility of parents. Gadgets, such as smartphones, tablets, and computers, have become extremely widespread nowadays. Therefore, even though it is stated to be harmful to children’ physical and mental health when they spend too much time using these technologies, many parents still let their children use them. For example, the majority of parents give their children a phone as a distraction when their children are crying. As a result, children become used to staying home and surfing the Internet or playing online games rather than going outside for a walk. The same tendency can be observed in teenagers. They enjoy being indoors and using gadgets more than going out and their parents do not control it. Therefore, technologies and parents’ irresponsibility are the main reasons for this issue.

Secondly, in order to solve this problem, parents should become more involved and interested in their children’s upbringing. Technologies are being developed very rapidly, and this proccess can not be controlled. However, if parents teach their children not to use gadgets for too long and control how their children spend their free time, this issue can be prevented. For example, some parents install “parental control” apps on their kids’ phones to block them if they have spent too much time using Internet. Without gadgets, children and teenagers will be willing to go outside and play with friends. Hence, better control from parents is essential to address this problem.

Summing up, the issue of children and adolescents spending more and more time indoors is caused by poor parenting and technology development and to solve it, parents should control their children.