In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are spending more and more of their time indoors. What do you think that are the causes of this problem? What measures could best be taken to solve it?

In various parts of the world, adolescents are dedicating more of their leisure time to staying indoors. In this essay, I would evaluate the reasons behind this problem before proposing some applicable solutions that can alleviate its severity.

On the one hand, in this day and age, technological renovations lead to the occurrence of distinct entertainment formats which are not only compact but also very economical. For instance, in the past, before the era of digitalization and modernization, individuals used to hang out and play outdoors in parks or playgrounds. Nevertheless, these days, the development of online amusement apps have made the young generation engrossed in sitting in front of the screen for many hours, which may lead to various health issues and potential social isolation. Besides, nowadays, a majority of families and schools often prioritizes academic achievement like homework or tutoring and structured activities such as sport competitions or team clubs over unstructured outdoor play. For example, in a survey carried out in the UK, some adolescents assert that playing outside is not as enjoyable as completing their assignments.

On the other hand, there is a wide range of procedures to tackle the consequences of this phenomenon. First and foremost, institutes and indigenous authorities should invest in free outdoor sport amenities in order to foster physical exercises among children. Also, community picnics, camping and outdoor exploration should be organised to make real-world activities more appealing and exhilarating. In addition, parents should strictly limit the time of using digital devices of their kids and encourage them to replace passive screen time with interactive outdoor games. Henceforth, this could create a sense of finding happiness and satisfaction in communicating and playing with other individuals instead of self- isolating and relying on modern devices.

To sum up, the phenomenon of kids spending most of their time indoors is primarily caused by the development of online gaming apps. To tackle this disadvantageous trend, there must be contributions from schools, governments and parents must put some effort in promoting their children to play putdoors.