In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon, and what are some of the possible solutions?

These days, it is becoming increasingly common for professional athletes to intake banned substances in order to boost their overall performance. While this issue can be attributed to a number of reasons such as wishing to achieve success easily and being afraid of loser, in my opinion, this situation could be improved by setting realistic goals and working off consistently.

One key reason for consuming forbidden substances in many types of sports is that athletes’ desire to be successful without any challenges. That is to say, they do not want to struggle physically or do not want to challenge themselves to achieve a particular goal in their sport career, making them less combative and eager to improve as an athlete. However, they wish to stay victorious in any situations and that urge is encouraging them to follow ill-ways, forcing them to act unethically by using those substances. Another reason would be the fear of loss. Sometimes, athletes may not be ready to compete with others psychologically, leading them to create some false beliefs in their minds such as not having enough capabilities to overcome their opponents or not developing clear determination to defeat them. In such cases, they are easily manipulated to make use of banned substances to perform better overall.

However, this problem could be mitigated in some ways. One of the most effective methods can be setting achievable aims and proper way for reaching that goal. In most cases, sportsmen tend to fail due to not having realistic goals or suitable structures to make their dreams come true. That is why, if this situation corrected and improved, I think, the results would be remarkable because every sportsperson may benefit from it. Training diligently could be considered as another remedy for this situation. Some important skills such as hard work, discipline or tolerance might be learned and mastered through working off consistently, which would be highly useful for sports athletes while they are participating in various competitions in the future.

In conclusion, it is undoubtedly true that being successful without hard work and the fear of loss are the main causes of intaking those substances, however, this issue could be solved by working hard on themselves and implementing proper goals in their lives