In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Is this is a positive or negative development?

In the present days, individualism has gained attention in most of the developed countries. As a result, individuals are trying to keep their ambitions and wishes on the top position despite the interests of the society. In my opinion, it is a negative trend in many reasons which are outlined in detail in subsequent paragraphs.

Initially, individualism does not support group work. When people work in a group, creative ideas will be produced and those ideas can turn into new developments and innovations. Working in a group is essential for the growth of both the individual and the community. For instance, companies which promote group work are producing better results than the companies which do not support team work.

Another major concern is that individualism may lead a person to the thought of lost in the crowd. As humans are considered as social animals they are requested to interact with other people for their personal growth. Individuals must help each other and contribute to the growth of the society. If they are not willing to do so, society will not include them in its activities which may lead individuals to a state of loneliness.

In conclusion, it is quite clear that individualism is a negative development on account that it does not support team work and individual may have a feeling of being lost.