In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Is this is a positive or negative development?

The assertion that a person’s success is solely determined by individualism is a pervasive one, often echoed in popular culture and anecdotal discussions. While traditional wisdom champions the pursuit of collectivistic culture as the cornerstone of personal and societal advancement, a burgeoning movement advocates for individualistic culture, emphasizing the vital role of personal goals in humans’s success, which I agree with. This essay will delve into the different aspects of these approaches.

Proponents of individualistic theory argue that individualism can empower people to become independent and self-directed citizens. Additionally, freedom can enhance individual ‘creativity and problem solving, which can open doors to wide range of opportunities. Individualism often exemplified by western societies, in those cultures, people learn to prioritize their personal goals, and invest in their own futures. Regarding the outcome of these countries, that ontology has a simple cause-and-effect correlation with success. Thus far, this viewpoint has proven to be useful.

However, collectivistic culture can provide interactive and engaging experiences, and people learn who to cooperate and work along with others, plus team differences make sure more time is spent deliberating on issues, which means there are less chances of errors. This perspective, while not entirely without merit, fails to account for the multifaceted nature of digital age requirements. For example, teamwork fails if there is no coordination between the team members, as well as it fails if the team leader is not very competent.

In conclusion, this essay delved into the differences between individualism and collectivism. In my point of view, growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests, is a beneficial progress.