In many parts of the world, families are spending less time together. Why is this happening and what are the effects on society?

The question of work-life balance has long been a key subject of social contention, with some people focusing less on their families due to scarce free time and modern livelihoods. Although this development can be ascribed to an overwhelming abundance of working hours and diligence to secure a good living, this trend can drive a negative force behind people’s both mental and physical health as well as undermined social bonds.

The primary factor behind this development lies in the increasing amount of working hours. Compared to the past when the traditional 9 to 5 was enough for a good livelihood, in today’s fast-paced work environment, it proves inefficient and people have started to work additional hours for higher income at large. Uzbekistan, a country where local people often try to work harder than their peers, can be a salient example. Nowadays, people not only work harder for higher salaries but also for a greater prestige among their colleagues to mean that they indeed care about their work. This highlights that, difficult as it can be to work harder than others, certain people choose more difficult options to achieve better economic gain and secure a good living for the next generations.

Regardless of the aforementioned reason for this situation, it can take a heavy toll on both individuals and societies. If people work excessively, they are more likely to suffer from serious mental disorders, such as sleep deprivation, increased anxiety, and extreme isolation, and jeopardize their psychological well-being, since recklessly working may break people’s mental functions to the breaking point. Similarly, countries may undermine their social stability and kinship ties, eventually hindering a more harmonious society and paving the way for compromised family bonds along with absolute social isolation across the community. For instance, a person who prioritizes working adequately often experiences lower stress levels, in contrast with one who is highly addicted to working for hours without interaction and may feel compelled to work hard and become mentally nervous, as proved in the research conducted by University of Cambridge in 2017.

In conclusion, while the core reasons why people allocate less time to their families are increasingly surging working hours and an aspiration to achieve a successful life, this may serve as a pathway to subverted social bonds, ultimate isolation, and serious health complications, including sleep deprivation, anxiety, and psychosis.