The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Fast foods are becoming increasingly popular and enable people to eat whilst living in a fast paced environment. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this rising trend. Firstly, I will discuss the advantages of fast foods. Secondly, I will consider the disadvantages.

Modern lifestyle requires people to be on their toes all the time. With demanding work schedules spanning for at least 10 to 12 hours in a day to coming back home completely exhausted to take up any chore, people have the tendency to skip their meals. For this reason, foods such as McDonalds are very popular as they are quick, cheap and readily available. The availability of convenience foods has reduced the number of people who skip their breakfast, lunch and dinner. These meals can be eaten on the go and do not require people to take out time from their schedules which they are quite helpful in allowing people to keep up with their jam packed routines.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of eating convenience meals are quite severe. Since convenience meals are mostly packaged meals that require quick heating in the microwave before consumption, they naturally contain a lot of added flavours, chemicals and preservatives. Regular consumption of preservatives is harmful for long term health. In addition to this, convenience foods do not have the same nutritive value as traditionally prepared, fresh food.

To conclude, although convenience foods have made it extremely easy for people to maintain an eating schedule while managing their modern lifestyles, it is important that a balance is created between eating traditional food and convenience food to maintain overall health while leading a modern life.