In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Is this is a positive or negative development?

There is indeed a development of individualism in many countries, with people focusing on their primary goals in the first place over collective interests. Although this phenomenon might bring some sort of personal prosperity, I believe that concentrating on collective achievements can foster overall human development, which pulls the overall balance in favor of community welfare.

One of the benefits of prioritizing self-prosperity is that it might facilitate personal growth in a short time. That is to say, if one’s concentration is linked only to his goals, he may easily pursue them without any distractions. As a result, he may achieve his objectives in a short time. Let’s take Cristiano Ronaldo, a football player, as an example. Although football is a team sport, Ronaldo focuses only on scoring goals. His team-play performance differs from solo gameplay. The majority of his achievements are associated with his performance.

Despite the advantages mentioned above, I still believe that mutual interests play an indispensable role in human progress. Having common sense in the community fosters mutual respect and decision-making. This follows the solving of problems in society. This will bring overall prosperity to the community. For example, the advent of COVID-19, a recent epidemic outbreak, contributed to the massive loss of people’s lives. However, a group of scientists could create a curable vaccine in a short period of time, which resulted in a rapid reduction in the effects of the disease.

In conclusion, there is a growing notion of individualism, with people allocating their time only to personal things over public interests. Even though this might play an important part in personal development, social welfare is the primary source of human evolution. For those reasons, I believe that the overall balance of drawbacks outweighs the benefits.