In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Is this is a positive or negative development?

There is indeed an upward trend in individualism these days, in which individuals focus on their purposes and dreams over collective visions. Although whether this trend is beneficial or pessimistic is still arguable, I strongly believe it may have positive impacts on people’s lives. This essay is going to point out the reasons why this development is forward-looking.

To begin with, once a person can make clear and prioritize personal goals over common tasks or the ones of the company that other colleagues follow, he can easily become successful due to the fact that these exclusive dreams are completely pursued without any distractions. As a consequence, his performance will be outstanding, leading him to a higher-ranked position in his career. Besides, people who fulfill their aspirations often achieve a prosperous life, and after every time a target is completed, there is an outbreak of exhilarating experience, making people happier and more satisfied.

Furthermore, individualism also fosters self-motivation and independence as well as self-related skills; hence, communities need not pay attention to personal problems as each individual has the ability to tackle his own issues. This enhances the capability to concentrate on specific goals, which may lead to the decrease of social evils since people are aware of retreating themselves from detrimental matters, creating better societies.

In conclusion, it remains questionable about the bans and boons of the development of individualism; however, from my perspective, this trend is positive only if we can balance and avoid isolating ourselves.