In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Is this is a positive or negative development?

There is an increasing focus on individualism in most communities, with people putting their own objectives and ambitions above collective interest. This is mainly due to the materialistic view of life nowadays and is a negative phenomenon because it makes societies weaker.

The main reason for such development is the rising capitalism and its materialistic view of life, which led many people to abandon traditional virtues such as altruism and cooperation. For instance, capitalism teaches people that everything is permissible in order to reach your goals and be successful, including exploiting other people or hiding helpful information.

This is a negative thing as it makes our societies weaker because people lose their sense of unity and bonds become looser and more fragile. A prominent example of such weakness is a murder that happened recently in Egypt in broad day light, with no one interfering to stop the murderer.

In summary, capitalism and materialism has led to a growing sense of detachment and individualism within societies, and this has negative consequences on populations because it weakens them and breaks the bonds between individuals.