In many urban areas, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from one another. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh its drawbacks?

There is ever-increasing need for strategic urban planning from all over the world. Therefore, some minds have applied themselves to the idea that the residential, commercial, educational and business areas should be located in separate zones. While the potential benefits of this proposal include the reduced crime rates and better facilities for children, I believe that drawbacks – increased costs of transportation and environmental footprint caused by abundance of vehicles – carry more weight.

The primary advantage this suggestion can offer is the lees terror cases idividuals suffer from. When urban planning arranged in small area, the shops and residential areas are vulnerable to robberies and other crimes that may not directly impact the well-being of those people since such activities take place far away from seperated zones. Additionally, the wallfare of children will be improved. As the current capacity of the cities such as; New York or Moscow are being developed at an unprecedented rate, so is the children who fail to travel from school to home independently due to hardship of packed city. To overcome the obstackle of travelling, governments should segregate school from business areas.

Despite these seemingly well-founded upsides, I remain convinced that the perceived drawbacks are more considerable. The chief concern is that the prices of already high commute can skyrocked once areas are isolated. It is because the expenses of fuel can strain the budget of drivers, and to buffer the effects, they will have to resort to increasing the costs. Perhaps more worryingly is the fact that environmental damage, in particular carbon footprint can occur as a result of traffic at peak hours. For example, in Tokyo isolated cities spent an hour on average to reach work and another hour to return home, releasing tons of carbon dioxide everyday. Such instances pose environmental questions regarding the seperation of city into certain zones.

In conclusion, even though I recognize the merits of the given proposal, the lesser terror and improved fasilities for children, I still uphold that the demerits in terms of increased transportaion prices and environmental damage are too great to dismiss.