In many urban areas, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from one another. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh its drawbacks?

Across the world, there is an increasingly prevalent tendency to separate buildings, such as stores, educational institutions, working centers and houses, from each other while planning the layout of the city. I believe the benefits of this policy are more significant than the drawbacks.

One of the disadvantages of this trend is longer commuting time. When different types of buildings are clustered with each other, the individual struggles to move from one point to another . It ultimately results in long hours spent in the transport and logistical inconvenience. high likelihood of monopolicy is the next concern. Such clustering allows well-established companies to build plenty of centers, covering the whole areas. This lead to difficulties to maintain small businesses and homogeneity of consumer goods.

One of the most significant advantages of this policy is better opportunities for knowledge exchange. By having high proximity with the other offices, employees from diverse companies can share the experiences and practical lessons with each other. It inevitably leads to overall development and strong connections between people from the same background. Besides that, clustering the same kind of buildings increases the competitiveness. This is because, if the shop is surrounded with other stores, but it wants to strengthen financial stability, it will try much harder to standout that if it does not have any neighbors. This leads to increased incentives to develop and risen living standards.

In conclusion, while inconvenience to reach destinations may cause some concerns, the advantages of this policy are more significant.