In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent studies indicate that people communicate instead of having live conversations not only in many workplaces but also in modern and digital society. While I acknowledge that there are many drawbacks to online communication at work, I would argue that the benefits are more significant. This essay will discuss several arguments supporting both these viewpoints.

The primary advantage of communicating from a distance is time saving. In other words, when people are asked attend meetings, they can join online without getting anywhere. The rest of the time might be spent on family or other activities. This allows employees to keep the balance between work and personal life when they are at work. Furthermore, internet-based communication helps information become shared and received immediately throughout the company’s network, which only works for a connected system in a company. For example, some documents are needed during a meeting that is crucial for the company. In that case, it would be more effective to send files to email rather than bringing them manually.

There is, however, an obvious disadvantage in that communication from a distance may contribute negatively to the workers’ social communication skills within the company. This means that, in online contact, face-to-face conversation has disappeared automatically. Hence, a collaborative atmosphere and employees’ teamwork skills are also getting weaker.

For instance, if office members work from home, they will get assistance from AI, such as ChatGPT and Gemini. However, they would have received this help from colleagues if they worked at home together with groupmates.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks associated with a less productive atmosphere, from my standpoint, its positive aspects exceed the shortcomings.