In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it is true that over the past few decades, online communication has seen significant growth in many cities around the globe. There are many benefits and drawbacks to this phenomenon; we can indicate both sides, merits and demerits, in this task.

There are several benefits associated with electronic communication. First and foremost, the easiest communication process on earth is online correspondence, while physical communication has a huge barrier. Online communication elucidates that individuals exchange information between a group of people quickly. Additionally, a physical workplace requires financial facilities to arrange a meeting and a specific place, as well as specific times, while online communication does not require such requirements. Nevertheless, communication over the internet facilitates the efficient allocation of time; on the other hand, physical meetings expand more time. In contrast, a physical meeting requires informing about a meeting so that people could attend the meeting. It causes time consuming very much.

There are several drawbacks to electronic communication. First of all, there is a security issue with it. Nowadays, internet hacking has risen gradually. A poorly secured security system will allow hackers to access the entire communication system. Lack of physical contact severely hampers communication over the internet. Sometimes, there is a necessity of physical contact during the meeting. Particularly, visual correspondence does not mean the body language of an individual, either if they receive the decision positively or not, during the meeting session.

To sum up, although there are many benefits and drawbacks to connecting electronic communication, I assume they will continue to arise. In my opinion, the drawbacks of online communication do not generate impact rather than benefits. So, online communication provides the greatest benefit to our workplaces.