In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely asserted that many employees, in recent times, socialize through online platforms rather than face-to-face meetings. I firmly believe that this rising trend offers more drawbacks than positive points, driving by several reasons.

One of the significant disadvantages is that people would be disabled to form a close relationship in the workplace by online communication. Accepting the fact that most individuals conceal their true characters while communicating on social media; in this context, it would be rather challenging for workers to strike up friendship with colleagues, as it arises with difficulty to get to know each other. Consequently, this problematic situation might foster a sense of isolation in people, as they are deprived of face-to-face interactions, resulting in negative effects on their work outputs. In addition, some workers who make friends through online meetings might trust a wrong person or be deceived by abusers. Considering a person who trick people to take advantage of their position in a company to make progress, whereas they may consider the relationship between them as being worthless.

Switching to its advantages, however, this way of socializing might be beneficial for those who work or live in remote places. It is a common situation among the countryside acommodants; indeed, they might work in the city center or in a further location, especially youngsters who must work in remote work environments to gain experiences and secure a higher position in their careers. In this case, people can work and connect with co-workers in online conditions to save time and money by not commuting long distances. For example, people who specialize in IT can do their job from home or other environment far from the workplace, which would be more affordable and time-saving.

In conclusion, in contemporary society, it is possible to interact with customers and colleagues through the use of online social platforms in the workplace, which brings more convenience for those who work in remote places. However, more risks would occur as many individuals are not reliable to interact through social media.