In modern society, ambition is more and more important. How important is ambition for being successful in life? Is it positive or negative?

There is no doubt that the desire for success is important, which guides people to achieve their goals.

Ambition is considered a necessary quality for successful people. In my opinion, ambition brings both good and bad to people’s lives. Ambitious people often set high goals in their studies or work and are committed to achieving those goals. They are passionate about their studies or work and are more disciplined and self-motivated than those who are less eager to succeed. When encountering difficulties, ambitious people will show more courage and determination to overcome obstacles because they can’t stand failure. In addition, since competition is becoming more and more intense in all aspects of our lives, ambitious people are more likely to adapt to society and beat their competitors.

However, if not handled properly, ambition can have negative effects in certain situations. For example, people in big cities feel stressed at work because they cannot achieve a balance between work and other aspects of their lives. Many people have too much workload and strive for higher salaries and promotions. Similarly, the sense of competition is a double-edged sword. Some people are extremely eager for personal success, and their behavior may endanger the interests of others. Therefore, their relationships with colleagues become tense, which is harmful to their long-term career development.

In summary, ambition gives people an advantage in facing challenges on the path to success, but people should also be aware of the negative effects of excessive ambition. The key is to achieve one’s ideals gradually.