In modern society, ambition is more and more important. How important is ambition for being successful in life? Is it positive or negative?

In this contemporary era which features high pressure and fierce competitions, ambition is a powerful driving force on modern people’s way to success. Personally, I side with the view held by a majority of experts that being ambitious is positive and vitally important as it can unleash human’s potential to the maximum,achieving considerable breakthroughs in different fields.

It is believed that ambition is a ladder leading to the sky. If Newton had no ambition to figure out why apples fall down on the earth rather than flying to the sky, gravity may never be discovered; If Salvador Dali had no ambition to draw what is in his mind or dreams no matter how distorted it is, surrealism may never be thought highly of; If the allied nations in the Second World War had no ambition to defeat the Nazism led by Hitler, massive slaughter would be recorded in the human history. It is ambition that enables individuals to be equipped with self-motivation and self-discipline that are deemed as indispensable factors for overcoming barriers as well as resisting temptation when devoting to work or studies. Unfortunately, people who lose ambitions are hard to pursue their goals or make themselves come out on the top even if their inspiration springs up every second.

Although a heavy ambition is often thought to be connected with the greed or an addiction to power, it is not the case. Ambitious people have courage and persistence to challenge tasks which cannot be completed by ordinary people. They also have aspiration to break down the routine as well as to fight for what they believe in. To a larger extent, the civilization of mankind would not thrive supposing that humans refuse to admit or even achieve their ambitions.

In a word, ambition is one of the most crucial characteristics for human beings. It gives us goals and pushes us to lead a life filled with satisfaction and glory. However, it is worth mentioning that the personal ambition can never be realized at the expense of violating others’ interests.