In most countries in the world children starts learning English at school from elementary level. What are the advantages and disadvantages of teaching english to student at and early age

Many countries in the universe, kids are taught English language in Basic level at schools as a means of communication in school and their communities. In this essay, we will be looking at the benefits and drawbacks of teaching english at the beginner levels in public and private schools in many parts of the world.

English language is quite used in many English speaking and non speaking countries as means of communication among their citizens and initiated and supported by government rulling bodies. For instance, In Nigeria, in elemenatry schools, pupils from age 6 downwards learn visualization and pronounciation, which makes them free from grammatical errors while growing. Moreover, it also give the pupils boldness to speak in public, inrease their developmental skills and mindset. They tends to read accurately.

However, native language are ignored due to more focused place on english in schools thereby exposing the children to little or no insights about their native language. For instance in Lagos, Nigeria, kids that attented private schools abandon other curriculum of native language in the shceme of works for the term, also schools labelled other languages as vernaculars thereby punishing pupils who default, kids are unable to communicate with grand parents, uncles during visit or festive period leading to communication gap.

In conclusion, Not learning in English language at an early age is quite good for the children to familiarize themselves with other laguages, moreover, children who communicate with it, tends to have good intonations, clear words and pronounciation that helps them understand, read and comprehend what they learnt.