In order to become a successful sportsperson, some people argue that you need to have access to the latest technology and most up to date equipment. Other people believe that these things are not necessary for sporting success. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the cut-throat sphere of sports, athletes are constantly keeping an eye out for the latest devices and the most relevant sporting equipment to give them a competitive edge. Some are of the impression that this consistent restockment of the latest supplies is essential for success, while others deem it unnecessary. Personally, I am of the opinion that while the usage of the latest technology does make a favourable result more reachable, it is not an indispensable element by any means.

The world is home to a plethora of talents, most being cultivated from a young age. This devoted training and persistence is not uncommon in the industry, thus what separates the professionals from the novices could be, in part, attributed to their ready access to the latest technology and resources. With certain machinery, they are capable of pinpointing their own weaknesses and, without much dillydallying, are able to rectify those flaws. This coupled with the fact that recent innovations make items more durable leads to the redundancy of wasting time in replacing tools.

Conversely, revolutionary gadgets are by no means a requirement for success. The age-old tradition of trial and error can help athletes learn from their past mistakes. This does require more effort on their part, yes, but the benefit of acquiring knowledge in this way far exceeds expectations. We live in a society of equivalent exchange: we reap what we sow, and we gain what we lose. An athlete’s passion becomes tangible only through their shed blood, sweat and tears. Therefore, even without the aid of advanced equipment, an athlete’s raw talent and determination can still prove fruitful. A widely known example of just this is in the case of a famous footballer. He started off with nothing but the clothes on his back and a single football. Through years of consistent training and devotion, he was able to rise up the ranks and become renowned as the world’s best footballer.

In conclusion, science and technology may make achieving victory easier, but it can never take away from our intrinsic tendency to burn with passion for our respective goals.