In person vs online method of learning, discuss both views and give your opinion

In the aftermath of the COVID-19 pandemic, the modes of learning in countless schools and universities needed revisions, with social distancing and various other safety precautions being prevalent in adversely affected areas of the world. During COVID, educational institutions temporarily shifted to an online mode of instruction, which arguably has several advantages over an in-person method of learning. However, I am still of the opinion that in-person learning cannot be, and should not be, replaced with online learning in the future.

An online method of learning boasts several edges over traditional classroom-based learning. It leads to the material being covered quickly, and more importantly, at the comfort of one’s home. Since most institutions record their lectures and make them available to their students, it becomes easier to come back and revise the topics. Also, it becomes convenient to track the contents covered in class in an online mode, making it easier to keep record of any material missed or skipped earlier without the need to consult one’s peers or teachers. However, a major drawback of the online mode is that proctoring during exams becomes difficult, with many students resorting to unfair means through social media and online messaging applications. Also, since the material tends to be covered quicker through slides, it might be difficult for one to follow what is being taught and the lack of board-work might also lead to reduced clarity on the subject comparatively.

On the other hand, a traditional in-person approach ensures that all students are on the same page in terms of the material taught in class. It becomes easier to gauge the level of understanding of the students individually, with students receiving personal help from instructors if necessary. Also, a physical approach to learning effectively leads to an engaging and fruitful discussion among peers themselves and with the instructor, fostering a sense of collaborative learning. It encourages one to be more open to what others are saying, and provides more freedom to get their points across than in an online method of learning. Learning in a classroom environment also leads to better focus and concentration, which seems to be missing in many students studying in an online mode from their homes.

In summary, both online and in-person modes have their own advantages and drawbacks. While an online mode of instruction is suitable during adversities such as a pandemic, political instability, or harsh weather conditions, a more traditional classroom-based method, in my opinion, leads to an overall better learning of skills for students and also leverages one’s personality development. A perfectly reasonable approach for an educational institution would be to utilize both of these modes of learning, with short online classes used for additional sessions and as a backup for students missing classes (especially due to situations such as health-related issues and transportation problems), and regular offline classes during normal school working hours.