In recent times, the use of bicycles as a mean of transports has declined. Questions: Why do people use bicycles less sequently nowadays? What measures can be taken to increase bicycle usage?

Is is observed that the use of bicycles has decreased in some countries, and the people living do prefer other means of transport over riding a bicycle. This can have its own advantages and disadvantages.

Riding a bicycle to work place or to run errands can be a good option or a better alternative to decrease the amount of pollution and also it is a good workout. Having some kind of workout before going to the workplace or in the morning is an activity good for heart health and mental health. But it can also be tiring at the same time and people would want to avoid doing that before getting to their workplace, as this can showcase a lousy attitude to the other coworkers.

This is why people prefer other means of transport like driving themselves to work or using public transport like cabs, buses, trains etc. These are cheaper alternative at the same like require minimum energy from an individual. Doing this people will defiantly not start their day by being tired but can be extra productive. But this add to the current air pollution and can only worsen it. The two things that can encourage people to switch to bicycles from other means of transport is that firstly it is better for health of every individual and secondly it is better for the environment. The switching can be possible when there is separate bicycle lanes made on road to less traffic, having options like renting cycles even if someone cannot own it. Such provisions are made in country like South Korea. Which made people to switch to bicycles and it is considered as an activity to spend time with your near and dear ones.

Every implementation has its own set of advantages and disadvantages and it also takes extra efforts to attract people to it. But if done in the correct manner and if comfort is provided to humans, they can get inclined to this idea.