In recent years, an increasing number of companies have been hiring celebrities to advertise their products. This practice is believed to do more harm than good to their customers . To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write an essay to support your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 200 words and do not include any personal information.

Lately, there has been a trend that most brands invite celebrities for a collaboration in order to advertise their products. Although it has been argued that this way of advertising is causing harm to the customers, I believe this method’s benefits surely outweight the imaginated drawbacks.

Initially, customers have a strong belief in celebrities, especially their well-known reputation. People always believe that famous celebrities must collaborate with a reputable brand due to their influence on the society. The products that are advertised by celebrities tend to successfully create a sense of safety thanks to customers’ love for that celebrities. Moreover, although celebrities are paid to advertise a product, they must have a real experience with that products and give their followers real comments about that product. In case a celebrity receives the money and praise a bad product, the public will surely criticize and stop showing love for that celebrity. Obviously, nobody will risk their long-built reputation for an amount of money. A well-known Tiktoker who reviews and recommend a fake product receives lots of criticism and condemnation from the public. Consequently, people stopped following her and now she is known for advertising regardless of people’s health, which is really ashame.

Another reason for this phenomenon is that fans always want to copy their idols. A phrasal created for this called “cheap-moment”. This can be explained that not all fans can copy completely their idols’ lifestyles because of their expensive luxury. Therefore, purchasing what the celebrities advertise is a more affordable way for them. Once the celebrities advertise for a product, they will have to do a photoshoot, film a TVC or use them on a regular basis. As long as they show the products by their side, the customers have a tendency of buying and use that products to be just like their idols. A new brand typically exemplifies this situation. A new lipstick brand named Cat’s lab has no sales when it was first introduced to the public. The brand, after that, invite a famous young singer called Tlinh to be the vedette of their products. As Tlinh has a huge number of fans who immediately support the brand for which she works, the lipstick soon becomes popular and the sales revenue starts to increase continuously. It is clear that customers believe and purchase whatever products their favourite celebrities advertise.

In conclusion, I disagree with the thought that celebrities’ involvement in advertising will do harm to a brand’s customers. Conversely, celebrities even succesfully contribute to increasing the amount of potential customers thanks to their reputation and people’s aspire to copy their way of living.