In recent years there has been an increase in bad behaviour, poor discipline and anti-social behaviour in schools. Tough measures and strict punishments by schools, parents and others are necessary to stop this trend. What are the advantages and disadvantages of stricter discipline for young people?

In recent years there has been an increase in bad behavior, poor discipline, and antisocial behavior in schools. Tough measures and stricter punishment by schools, parents, and others are necessary. Discipline defined as a continuous good behaviour that is repeated consistently. However, there are so many interpretations about how stricter discipline is.

Stricter discipline could be defined as the efforts to gain more consistency of discipline within doing it frequently. Since the discipline is about consistency, it needs a long time to implement. On the other hand, some people implement stricter discipline massively in the short time. Here in Indonesia, some colleges and schools do it ridiculously in a narrow time on “O week” or Orientation Week. They are doing a stricter discipline camp as the underneath of hazing. We all know that discipline was constantly continuous for a long time, it could be a few months or years.

Stricter discipline is the instant solution to make the young people ordered. It will be an easier way to conduct young people to obey since it was an imperative approach within the punishment to show what is the correct and incorrect. On the other hand, the wrong approach could make much worse behaviour such as temperamental behaviour, less empathy, and abusive act. It is an easier way and instant, so the young people who are treated with this approach would think it is a best practice while it could print out bad behaviour.

In conclusion, I am not in favor of stricter discipline. In my opinion, we have a bunch of alternative solutions to solve the case. I saw a lot of print out of the people with strict discipline and they always become abusive people. My own solution is to order the young people with a better approach, starts with a conversation and observe them. And for the last bite, every person could have a different best practice. So, we need to implement it with a suitable approach regarding the person.