In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, there is an increase in the number of people with diseases in the world, which are caused by eating a lot of junk food. authorities in some countries try to fix this problem by raising taxes. In my opinion it is not the worst way, but there are many more methods for solving people’s health problems.

Some people insist on the increase in taxes being the only option to reduce the consumption of unhealthy food. Firstly, the fast food business category will not be as profitable as before. and the number of such places will be fewer because of low income. Secondly, junk food often is the cheaper option for eating, a lot of people think that healthy food is expensive, however, if the taxes increase, the cost of fast food will become almost equal to healthy food.

On the other hand, this approach may be especially tough on people with low incomes. Higher taxes leave them with no choice but to look for cheaper and often less nutritious food options. In addition, taxation alone cannot solve the problem. People need accessible information about healthy eating, as well as real opportunities to buy high-quality products at affordable prices. Without these measures, raising taxes on unhealthy food may create more inequality rather than improving public health overall.

To sum up, I believe that raising taxes on unhealthy products can be an effective measure for improving public health, but only in combination with educational programs and increased access to healthy foods. Therefore, I partially agree with this approach.