In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In many countries, many people are facing health issues because of eating too much fast foods. Some people thinks that Government should increase the taxes on that kind of food. I largely accept with this concept (but only imposing higher taxes on fast food would not be a complete solution).

First and foremost, imposing higher taxes on fast food will reduce its consumption and the price will doubled at its price. Fast food is cheap and it is ubiquitous, that’s why people especially young aged will think twice before buying that. Government can introduce healthy food items by increasing price through taxation and can discourage excessive intake of fast foods. In addition to this, revenue generated from taxes can be used in health care facilities, social awareness campaigns, to fund public health care funds and to upgrade nutritious foods.

On the other hand, critics argue that taxing on fast food unfairly affects on low-income family because of the price. They can not afford. Though higher taxes could not change anyone’s eating habit. In addition to, people will fall sick. Health issues are often because of lack of studies and awareness rather than cost alone. Therefore, focusing solely taxation would not be the cure of root problems.

To sum up, it can be said that imposing higher taxes on fast foods can reduce health problems but focusing on this particular thing wouldn’t solve the problem. This approach should be combined with other better policies to achieve long term improvement in public health.