In some countries around the world, men and women tend to have their children later in life. Why is this happening? What are the effects on society and family life?

In the contemporary world, an increasing number of individuals decide to postpone parenthood. The following essay will analyse the reasons behind this trend and suggest some consequences of those trends to family life as well as society.

On the one hand, there are several reasons behind people’s motivation to have children later in their life, chief among which is financial gain. To be specific, numerous businesses promise higher salaries for job holders with high productivity, which act as a source of determination for them to work harder. As a result, such workers tend to demonstrate higher productivity in private sectors to gain financial stability rather than have children immediately. Furthermore, many young adults often pursue higher academic education instead of having children immediately in their work. This is largely because various competitive professions with high rewards require advanced qualifications as well as in-depth knowledge in a particular field. Consequently, such young people not only spend their time acquiring academic knowledge but also improving their core skills, thereby delaying parenthood is a practical choice to achieve academic success in their life.

Nevertheless, delaying parenthood in people’s lives may have several negative consequences on family life and society. Firstly, postponing parenthood can pose a serious threat to family bonds. Given having late children, such trend can wider generation disparity in family life, which may make communication and mutual understanding more difficult. Additionally, having children later in life contributes to long-term societal consequences in terms of society, chief among which are the the population ageing. If all families have their offspring late in life, there will be a serious lack of young labourers, resulting in the increase of elderly people rates. In light of this, the nations which do not have enough high-quality job holders in the workplace will soon deteriorate the economy as well as worsen their prosperity.

In conclusion, the reasons behind postponing parenthood in people’s lives are based on the desire for financial gain and higher academic success. These trends will pose a serious threat to family bonds and society due to older generations.