In some countries, governments encourage businesses to move outside of the cities to solve the problems of housing and transport in the cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

In today’s growing urban landscapes, important infrastructure like housing and transport are reaching their maximum threshold.In response to these problems some countries’ governements are encouraging businesses to operate outside cities.Although, this has some disadvantages, but the upsides are significant and should be considered.

One of the most important benefits,is that, businesses operating outside cities would not consume city’s resources.In current scenario, companies inside cities occupy huge amount of land, and use lot of eletrical energy as well as are a big consumers of water.These precious resources are critical for many people living in the vicinities of company sites.Farmers and small businesses often suffer losses due to inavailability of land,electricity and water.Morevoer, businesses inside cities make lot of pollution and often are a threat to natural environment.The generated by-products of factories are hazadours for humans and animal. If such businesses were to operate outside the cities, the impact to smaller organisations would reduce, and would create a more sustainable environment.

However, there are some drawbacks as well if companies relocate outside cities.Firstly, it would be very difficult for companies to shift their operations elsewhere.Usually these exisiting businesses, have already deployed assets and equipment which are heavy,fragile and risky to move.Data centres inside cities is a prime example of such businesses.Moving such inventory is not feasible and could cause heavy losses of data worth millions of dollars.Comapnies doing this could face terrible consequences. Another potential drawback is , the employees who are well settled inside city living areas would be hesistant to move to rural areas , as they are habituated to city lifestyle which offers them convenient facilties to use.Consequently,they could change their jobs and work for comapnies which has a better location.

To conclude, companies and businesses operating outside of cities would cause less burden on cities resources and to the surrounding environment.This will lead to improvement in local economy and preserve natural environment.On the other hand, if companies relocate outside the cities, it would cause them huge losses, as both the manpower and physical assests are diffcult to move.In my opinion, although this provides disadvantages in short term, the advantages and benefits are far greater.