In some countries, governments encourage businesses to move outside of the cities to solve the problems of housing and transport in the cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

In recent years, some issues related to accommodation and transportation have emerged, prompting authorities to exclude companies from inside the cities. Despite the fact that this approach presents some difficulties, I believe that the advantages associated with it are far greater.

One prominent disadvantage of moving companies to outer areas is the potenial late arrival and longer travel to work. For example, employees, who have to commute to remote workplace, might take longer than usual to reach the institution, or often be late unless they leave home earlier. Moreover, locating businesses in distant areas could cause financial or human losses. If the company encounter technical issues or systematic failure, for example, it requires long hours for the technicians to reach the place and thus a possible shortage or loss in business. More importantly, the potential loss of life that may occure in cases of emergency like fire or food poisoning due to inaccessibility. Although these drawbacks must be acknowledged, they are exceeded by the beneficial outcomes of this policy on individuals and governments as well.

Limitting institutions to the outer side of the cities contributes to the reduction of overcrowded regions and traffic congestion. Due to population increase in cities, governments have to secure more and more residential buildings, which will be added to already existed commercial blocks. If the business owners have their companies located in outside areas, they would provide opportunities for more housing. Not only overpopulation generates housing problems, but also exacerbates traffic jam concerns. Road gridblocks can be tackled by isolating companies to remote places, since their staff usually take an outer way going to work.

In conclusion, after this essay has discussed both sides, it can be claimed that transitioning businesses to the city outside holds a significant impact on delivering more services and amenities.Hence, it is crucial to apply this approach in as many countries as possible to move towards a well-structured society.