In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Through humans’ life span, they need food to carry out the metabolic functions of the bodies to produce energy, and nutritious meals are essential to keep humans’ bodies are in fit. In some countries, it has become commonplace that people start following vegetarian diet. While others claim that this lifestyle is unhealthy, however I strongly believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

The main problem to become a vegetarian is not all nutrients can be obtained by consuming vegetables, and only can be found in some dairy products. Lacking certain vitamins and minerals may develop deficiencies that can be damaging health and life-threatening. For example, humans’ metabolism is regulated by thyroid gland to maintain and make heart, brain, and kidney work properly. This gland requires iodine to function properly. Some essential minerals such as iodine only can be found in seafood, dairy products, and kelps. Being a vegetarian, especially who excludes dairy products can lead body’s function is at risk.

Vegetarianism allows people to design their daily meals carefully to get all nutrients the bodies need. People who take this healthy lifestyle, they also consult their daily meals with a nutritionist to give them advice about the meals they may consume or not. Some vegetarians, however, still consume some dairy products in a certain amount to fulfil their mineral and vitamin basic needs. Therefore, being a vegetarian can avoid people consuming meat excessively, reducing the risk of cardiovascular disease and various types of cancer. Those health issues are the paramount factors of death. Thus, vegetarian diets can cause people live longer.

To sum up, it seems to me that the benefits of being a vegetarian are more significant than the negative impacts for health. However, I will advocate that a vegetarian should still consult their dairy meals to nutritionist to keep their daily nutrition is still at proper portion.