In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In many nations, there is a growing number of individuals who are willing to switch to vegetarian diets. While this dietary shift may cause a slight decline in physical health, I believe that the benefits it offers, particularly in terms of the alleviation of environmental degradation, far outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, opting for vegetables and fruit as the primary food source rather than meat can render individuals physically weak. That is to say that unlike pork or beef, which can offer a wealth of essential nutrients such vitamin D, protein, and glucose, plants merely provide such beneficial components for humans, deteriorating their overall well-being. For instance, according to a study, in Vietnam, around 85% of the labor workforce is consuming meat daily to ensure sufficient nutrition and energy required for their arduous tasks, as nutrients in vegetables just aren’t enough to sustain their health. However, I believe that with the affordable price of vegetables, citizens can purchase a diverse range of vegetation to replenish nutrients that they may lack.

On the other hand, the diminishing presence of meat in diets helps mitigate the impact of climate change. Manufacturing meat often emits significant amounts of carbon emissions, which exacerbates global warming. On the contrary, harvesting edible plants only requires manual efforts and therefore eliminates the potential for air pollution. A pertinent example is Dubai, where vegetarianism has been promoted. Due to their innate belief in vegetarianism, most of locals there only consume vegetables and as a result, they put a strong emphasis on vegetable rather than meat markets, enabling the city to produce less exhaust and become one the most environmentally friendly places. As ensuring environmental protection is crucial to the world, I believe that being a veggie can bring numerous advantages.

In conclusion, while the shift to vegetarian meals may weaken a person’s physical strength, it helps substantially in curtailing global warming. For these reasons, the positives far outweigh the negatives.