In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people are more educated and concerned about their health and development through the acknowledge about food that they take to their body -as the saying goes, you are what you eat. Along with that, plant-based diet has been becoming popular as a lifestyle that has implemented by many people in several countries. Personally, I strongly agree that the advantages of vegetarian diet can overshadow its drawbacks.

To begin with, a so called vegetarian is a person who avoids consuming meat, poultry, or fish in a certain extent and just intakes vegetables and fruit into their body. They follow vegetarianism due to several factors, such as their own preference, environmental concerns, animal rights, or even religious reasons. This kind of diet style makes its adherents to keep eating bunch of nutritious meal from plant-based food only and diminish their protein intake from animal consumption. This will lead to nutrient deficiency that our body needs; vitamin B12, iron, zinc, and calcium. When we lack in those specific nutrients, it allows us to get weak muscles, numbness, weight loss and so on. Moreover, some vegetarians also feel superior when it comes to implementing this diet in their social life and judging others who do not follow vegetarianism. Even worse, they will mock and try to compel everyone to get this diet, leading to discomfort among who do not want to involve themselves in this lifestyle.

However, implementing a vegetarian diet brings more benefits in health and ecological aspects. Consuming meals that contain rich fiber, nutrients, vitamins and less of saturated fat will make us prevent a number of health diseases, such as cardiovascular disease, diabetes, hypertension, cancer, and dementia which can allow us to get a chance to live longer. In addition, concerning and being mindful with food that will enter our body also means taking care of our brain, body shape, and mood, leading to boost our productivity in everyday life. The other reason why it is so beneficial to implement vegetarian diet is providing sustainable lifestyles since the concern of ecology and environment are taken care of. With many vegetarians in this society, it will be safe for more animals from exploitation to become processed food and balance ecosystem.

To conclude, becoming a vegetarian and consuming plant-based food that are currently popular is a choice that is influenced by several factors. The advantages of this diet can outnumber its drawbacks as it can provide us with sustainable lifestyle in the future.